Travel: What documents do tourists need to visit Austria?

Hayley Maguire
Hayley Maguire - [email protected]
Travel: What documents do tourists need to visit Austria?
Ein Impfpass und ein Smartphone, auf dem die App CovPass läuft, liegen auf einem Impfzertifikat, das von einer Apotheke ausgestellt wurde. Der digitale Nachweis ist eine freiwillige Ergänzung des weiter gültigen gelben Impfheftes aus Papier. Deutschland setzt damit ein Vorhaben der Europäischen Union um. +++ dpa-Bildfunk +++

After a lengthy worldwide travel ban, tourists can now visit Austria again. But what documents do they need?


Austria is now open for tourism as the epidemiological situation in the country improves and restrictions are rolled back.

This doesn’t mean tourism has returned to easy pre-pandemic times though as there are still official documents that most visitors need to have to enter Austria - as well as a passport.

However, the current rules for entry mostly depend on which country you are travelling from and whether you can show proof of the 3-Gs - tested, vaccinated or recovered.

Here’s what you need to know.


Schengen zone and EFTA countries

Travellers from countries in the Schengen zone and EFTA countries can enter Austria without the need to quarantine or fill out a pre-clearance travel form.

These countries are Andorra, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, and Vatican City.

How do bars, event venues and airports check Austria’s green pass – and what info do they see?

Travellers will need to carry proof of a recent negative coronavirus test, a vaccination certification or proof of recovery from the virus.

A vaccination certificate will only become valid proof 15 days after the second dose.

All documents must be in Latin, German or English.

What about the rest of the world?

On July 1st, the Austrian government lifted its worldwide travel ban and replaced it with three categories of countries.

This means people travelling from so-called “green” countries can enter Austria for tourism. 

Currently, countries on this list, or Appendix 1, include Serbia, North Macedonia, Albania, USA, Australia, New Zealand, Hong Kong, Singapore, Canada, Thailand and Japan.

Basically, the same rules apply to these countries as for travellers from EU and EFTA countries, which means they need to provide evidence of one of the 3-Gs. 

Then there is a list of countries deemed as virus variant areas, known as Appendix 2.

As of July 8th, these countries are Botswana, Brazil, Eswatini, India, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nepal, Russia, Zambia, Zimbabwe, South Africa, Uruguay and the United Kingdom.

Entry from these countries is only allowed for Austrian residents or citizens, European residents or citizens, people entering for business or study purposes, or diplomats. 

Arrivals will need to fill out a pre-travel clearance form, provide evidence of a negative test and quarantine for ten days, although you can leave quarantine after the fifth day with a negative test

The third ‘category’ is the remaining countries that are not in the first two categories. 

Entering Austria is possible as long as travellers have a negative test, are fully vaccinated or recently recovered from the virus.

You can find the full government guidance here.

Covid-19: One in four Austrians support compulsory vaccination


Join the conversation in our comments section below. Share your own views and experience and if you have a question or suggestion for our journalists then email us at [email protected].
Please keep comments civil, constructive and on topic – and make sure to read our terms of use before getting involved.

Please log in to leave a comment.

See Also