Austria’s ban on British arrivals extended until September

The Local Austria
The Local Austria - [email protected]
Austria’s ban on British arrivals extended until September
Arrivals from the UK will continue to be banned until August 31st. Photo: Adrian DENNIS / AFP

Austria has extended a ban on arrivals from the United Kingdom until August 31st, due primarily to concerns surrounding the Delta variant.


Austria will bring into effect a new set of entry rules from July 1st. 

While this is positive for people from most countries wanting to visit Austria, the ban on arrivals from the UK will be extended until the end of August. 

The ban applies primarily to tourist travel, with Austrian citizens and residents - along with citizens and residents of other European countries - allowed to enter Austria from the UK. 

Those who are allowed to enter will need to provide evidence of a negative test and will need to quarantine for ten days, although you can leave quarantine after the fifth day with a negative PCR test

On June 21st, Austria removed the ban on direct flights from the UK to Austria. 

READ MORE: Austria ends ban on British flights: What does this mean for travellers?

In addition to the UK, the ban also applies to other ‘virus variant’ areas, including Brazil, India and South Africa. 


What is changing?  

From this date, which is also when the new European Green Passport comes into force, new entry regulations will also apply to Austria.

Persons entering from “low-risk” countries should be able to prove they have only stayed there within the last ten days and show proof of vaccination, recovery or a negative test from Covid-19. 

If this proof is not available, a Covid test must be carried out within 24 hours of arrival. 

The Ministry of Health has provided the following list of low-risk countries: Albania, Andorra, Australia, Belgium, Bulgaria, Denmark, Germany, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Hong Kong, Ireland, Iceland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Croatia, Latvia, Liechtenstein , Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macau, Malta, Monaco, New Zealand, the Netherlands, North Macedonia, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, South Korea , Taiwan, Thailand, Czech Republic, Hungary, the USA, the Vatican, Vietnam and Cyprus.

More information is available at the following link.

UPDATED: What are the rules for entering Austria right now?


Comments (1)

Join the conversation in our comments section below. Share your own views and experience and if you have a question or suggestion for our journalists then email us at [email protected].
Please keep comments civil, constructive and on topic – and make sure to read our terms of use before getting involved.

Please log in to leave a comment.

Anonymous 2021/06/30 19:30
I think the "until September" is slightly misleading. There is nothing to stop an amendment of the Verordnung based on changing circumstances prior to end of August. The wording of the Verordnung is such that if there is no amendment to it, it will be repealed at the end of 31 August 2021, however as a recast of the Covid-19 Einreiseverordnung, it is very apparent that amendments are often made at 2-3 week intervals in the case of change incidence rates etc.

See Also