Austria updates countries on coronavirus quarantine exception list

The Local
The Local - [email protected] • 12 Jan, 2021 Updated Tue 12 Jan 2021 13:28 CEST
image alt text

Austria has updated its short list of countries from which arrivals do not have to quarantine, with Greece added and Ireland removed.


There have also been changes from outside of Europe. 

Uruguay is no longer considered an exception to the quarantine rule - while Singapore has been added to the list. 

The changes will come into effect on Friday, January 15th. 


Which countries are on the list?

From December 19th, Austria put in place a mandatory ten-day quarantine on all arrivals. 

This includes Austrian citizens and residents. 

READ MORE: Which countries are now on Austria's quarantine list?

While exceptions were made for cross-border commuters and people attending urgent family events such as funerals, the Austrian government also listed a limited number of countries from which arrivals would not have to quarantine. 

As at January 12th, these are Australia, Japan, New Zealand, South Korea, Uruguay and the Vatican, along with the European nations of Norway, Ireland, Finland and Iceland. 

As of January 15th, this will be updated to remove Uruguay and Ireland, while adding Singapore and Greece. 

More information is available at the following link. 

UPDATED: What you need to know about Austria's quarantine rules



The Local 2021/01/12 13:28

Please keep comments civil, constructive and on topic – and make sure to read our terms of use before getting involved.

Please log in to leave a comment.

See Also