Switzerland adds US and parts of Austria and Italy to mandatory quarantine list

Author thumbnail
The Local - [email protected]
Switzerland adds US and parts of Austria and Italy to mandatory quarantine list
Arrivals from 11 more countries will have to quarantine from December 14th. Photo by AFP

Swiss health officials included more ‘high risk’ countries on in its list on Friday. The new rule will come into force on December 14th.


Since the end of October, only six areas (four countries and two states in Austria) considered as “areas with an increased risk of infection” figured on the list.

But from December 14th, the Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH) added 11 more countries and regions.

Three Italian regions were put on the list, and two areas of Austria have been added to those already included.

The complete list is below.

READ MORE: What you need to know if you are travelling abroad from Switzerland




  • Overseas area French Polynesia


  • Region Emilia Romagna
  • Region Friuli Venezia Giulia
  • Region Veneto


  • Land Kärnten
  • Land Salzburg
  • Land Steiermark
  • Land Upper Austria

Other countries:

  • Andorra
  • Croatia
  • Georgia
  • Hungary
  • Jordan
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Montenegro
  • Northern Macedonia
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • San Marino
  • Serbia
  • Slovenia
  • United States of America

One nation, the Czech Republic, is removed from the list.

People arriving in Switzerland from these countries will have to register with cantonal health authorities and quarantine at home or another suitable location for 10 days. No going out or receiving visitors is allowed during this period. 

The added countries are those whose infection rate is higher than that of Switzerland, which currently stands at 588 per 100,000 people.

When the list was created on July 2nd, dozens of countries were placed on it. However, as Switzerland’s infection rate started to exceed that of most European and many non-European nations, authorities said it no longer made sense to keep them on the list.

READ ALSO: Who can enter Switzerland right now?


Comments (1)

Join the conversation in our comments section below. Share your own views and experience and if you have a question or suggestion for our journalists then email us at [email protected].
Please keep comments civil, constructive and on topic – and make sure to read our terms of use before getting involved.

Please log in to leave a comment.

Anonymous 2020/12/06 12:45
I wonder why they've chose those particular Italian regions. Veneto has always been yellow and the other two are now yellow.

See Also