UPDATE: Switzerland removes France and Belgium from travel quarantine list

The Local
The Local - [email protected] • 23 Nov, 2020 Updated Mon 23 Nov 2020 12:15 CEST
image alt text

France, Belgium and Armenia have been removed from Switzerland’s quarantine list, while parts of Austria along with Luxembourg and Montenegro have been added.


From Monday November 23rd, travellers from the three countries are no longer subject to the 10-day quarantine rule.

In September Switzerland added 10 French regions to its quarantine list. 

However, on Wednesday, November 18th, Switzerland updated that list again - removing France, Belgium and Armenia from the mandatory quarantine requirement.

From November 23rd, arrivals from those countries can enter freely, while residents of Switzerland can travel to those countries without having to quarantine on their return, the Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH) confirmed on Wednesday. 

'Scandalous': Swiss government 'knew coronavirus quarantine for travellers was ineffective' 

The Austrian states of Upper Austria and Salzburg are currently considered risk areas and remain subject to quarantine. Otherwise, only Andorra, Luxembourg, Montenegro and the Czech Republic can still be found on the FOPH's list.






The Local 2020/11/23 12:15

Please keep comments civil, constructive and on topic – and make sure to read our terms of use before getting involved.

Please log in to leave a comment.

See Also