Parts of Austria added to Switzerland’s quarantine list

Parts of Austria added to Switzerland's quarantine list
Parts of Austria along with Luxembourg and Montenegro have been added to Switzerland's quarantine list.
France, Belgium and Armenia have been removed from Switzerland’s quarantine list, while parts of Austria along with Luxembourg and Montenegro have been added. 

Switzerland in late October amended its quarantine rules, reducing the number of countries where arrivals are required to quarantine in Switzerland from more than 60 to just four. 

On Wednesday, November 18th, Switzerland updated that list again – removing France, Belgium and Armenia from the mandatory quarantine list. 

'Scandalous': Swiss government 'knew coronavirus quarantine for travellers was ineffective' 

The Austrian states of Upper Austria and Salzburg are considered risk areas pursuant to the changes. Otherwise, only Andorra, Luxembourg, Montenegro and the Czech Republic can be found on Switzerland's list.

The changes will come into effect from November 23rd. 

Prior to Wednesday, arrivals from Belgium, Armenia and the French capital of Paris had been required to quarantine for ten days on arrival in Switzerland. 

From November 23rd, arrivals from those countries can enter freely, while residents of Switzerland are free to travel to those countries without having to quarantine on their return, the Federal Office of Public Health confirmed on Wednesday. 

Member comments

Become a Member to leave a comment.Or login here.