MAPS: Where can Austrian residents travel to right now?

The Local Austria
The Local Austria - [email protected]
MAPS: Where can Austrian residents travel to right now?

The coronavirus' second wave has shuttered borders all over Europe. Despite these measures, where can residents of Austria travel to right now?


Since autumn, Austrian residents - including those from particular states - have been restricted from travelling abroad. 

While some countries have outright bans on arrivals from Austria, others have put in place quarantine requirements for arrivals. 

Here’s the latest figures on where Austrians can travel, as of Monday, October 26th, according to the Austrian Press Agency. 

Editor’s note: We do our best to provide updated figures. Up to date information is provided, in German, at the following link. 

What are the rules for Austrian residents travelling abroad? 

Generally speaking, there are three broad categories for residents of Austria travelling abroad. 

The first is that entry is possible without any conditions or barriers, although in some instances the Austrian government has warned against travelling to particular countries. 

The second is that entry is only possible with evidence of a negative corona test or through undertaking a quarantine (or both). 

The third is that entry is restricted, with only nationals, residents or people who fit into a limited range of exceptions permitted to enter. 


What about Austrian governmental travel warnings? 

Ahh, this is important. While the following list refers to the rules of other countries, it does not reference the rules of the Austrian government. 

As at October 26th, the Austrian government has issued travel warnings for several regions of Europe. 

Recently, Austria has issued partial travel warnings for Bulgaria and Croatia and for the Czech region of Prague, for the Spanish mainland and the Balearic Islands, for the French regions d'Provence-Alpes-Cote Azur and Ile-de-France (including Paris) as well as for the Portuguese regions of Norte and Lisbon.

This is in addition to travel warnings for Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, China (Hubei province), Kosovo, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Serbia, Romania, Moldova, Ukraine, Turkey and the United States. 

Entry into Austria from these countries or regions will only be possible after a negative coronavirus test and/or pursuant to quarantine. 

More information is available here.

Where can I go without a test or quarantine? 

Albania, Bulgaria, Croatia, France, Italy, Macedonia, Montenegro, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Turkey and Ukraine. 

Where can I go where I require a test or a quarantine? 

Tests and/or quarantines are required in Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Estonia, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Kosovo, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, the United Kingdom. 

Please click here for more information. 


Where can I go (quarantines or tests required from some Austrian states)?

Belgium, Germany, Netherlands, Slovenia and Switzerland. 

The entry rules to these countries will depend largely on the Austrian state from which someone is entering. 

Vienna, Tyrol, Burgenland, Lower Austria, Upper Austria, Salzburg and Vorarlberg are currently known as ‘Red Zones’ by the Belgian government. Anyone arriving to Belgium from these states who has coronavirus symptoms will need to quarantine. 

Everyone entering Germany from all states other than Carinthia must show a negative Covid-19 test which must not be older than 48 hours. Otherwise there is a 14-day quarantine obligation.

Anyone entering the Netherlands from Vienna, Tyrol, Vorarlberg, Lower Austria, Upper Austria and Salzburg - with the exception of East Tyrol and the exclaves Hinterriß, Jungholz and Kleinwalsertal - are required to quarantine for ten days after arrival. Even a negative test before or after arrival in the Netherlands does not allow arrivals to avoid the quarantine requirement. 

Anyone arriving to Slovenia from Vienna will need to present a negative test or must quarantine. 

Switzerland requires a ten-day quarantine on arrival for anyone coming from Vienna, Lower Austria, Upper Austria, Salzburg and Burgenland. As with the Netherlands, evidence of a negative test is immaterial. 

Where can I not travel to in Europe?

Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, Hungary, Moldova and Russia all have bans on arrivals from Austria. 

This will not apply in the case of a range of limited exceptions, for instance for residents or citizens of those countries.


Join the conversation in our comments section below. Share your own views and experience and if you have a question or suggestion for our journalists then email us at [email protected].
Please keep comments civil, constructive and on topic – and make sure to read our terms of use before getting involved.

Please log in to leave a comment.

See Also